Resources

Resources

Why do I need to wear a face covering?

Resources

If You Don't Have Coverage, Or Are Losing Your Health Insurance

Resources

If you own a small business or run a private, non-profit organization in California and have been affected by the response to COVID-19, you may be eligible for a low-interest federal loan. San Diego County small businesses may also be eligible for loans through local relief funds.

Resources

Schools, Business Closures: Resources are Available for You and Your Family

Other Resources

Access to Benefits for VeteransThrough their service to our country, veterans have earned a wide range of benefits.

However, it can be difficult to verify their service in order to acquire those benefits. In fact, not having proof of military service is one of the biggest obstacles veterans face gaining access to resources, benefits, and services. As such, a new law that I had the privilege of supporting is fixing this problem by adding the word “veteran” to California identification cards.

Starting Nov. 12, veterans can easily prove their eligibility to receive state and federal veterans benefits without having to carry inconvenient and inefficient papers.

Applying for the veteran driver’s license and ID is easy:

1. Simply find your military discharge certificate (DD214). If you need help obtaining your military records, then contact your local County Veteran Service Officer (CVSO).
2. Stop by your local CVSO with your DD214 for verification.
3. Go to www.dmv.ca.gov, or call the DMV at 1-800-777-0133, to make an appointment. Bring your verified application form, and the small $5 application fee.

You must complete all applicable requirements. The application form certifies the veteran applying for the veteran ID card is from the active armed forces, and was discharged under honorable circumstances.

DIRECTORY OF COUNTY VETERANS SERVICE OFFICERS

San Diego County

Tom Splitgerber, CVSO
5560 Overland Drive, Suite 310
San Diego, CA 92123
(858) 694-3222
Hours: 8:00a.m. – 4:00p.m. (Mon-Fri)

Oceanside Outreach Center
1300 Rancho Del Oro Road, Room 138
Oceanside, CA 92056
(760) 643-2049
Hours: 8:00a.m. – 3:00p.m. (Mon-Fri)

Chula Vista Veterans Home
700 E. Naples Court, Room A-159
Chula Vista, CA 91911
(619) 482-6010
Vet Office (Dennie)
(619) 205-1173
(619) 205-1129 (F)

Escondido VA Clinic
815 E. Pennsylvania Avenue
Escondido, CA 92025
(760) 466-7020
Hours: 8:00a.m. – 4:30p.m. (Tue-Thu)

San Marcos Vet Center
1 Civic Center Drive, Suite 150
San Marcos, CA 92069
(855) 898-6050
Hours: 8:00a.m. – 3:00p.m. (Wed)

La Jolla VA Medical Center
VA Transition Center
3350 La Jolla Village Drive
San Diego, CA 92161
(858) 552-8585, ext. 1813

Chula Vista Vet Center
180 Otay Lake Road, Street 108
Bonita, CA 91902
(877) 618-6534
Hours: 7:00a.m. – 4:00p.m. (Fri)

Escondido Veterans Services
247 S. Kalmia Street
Escondido, CA
(460) 480-1657
(760) 480-1124
Hours: 9:00a.m. – 3:00p.m.

Paid Sick Leave Facts & Resources

AB 1522 (Gonzalez): The Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014

Overview

An employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California for 30 or more days within a year from the beginning of employment, is entitled to paid sick leave. Employees, including part-time and temporary employees, will earn at least one hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked. Accrual begins on the first day of employment or July 1, 2015, whichever is later.

Exceptions: Employees covered by qualifying collective bargaining agreements, In-Home Supportive Services providers, and certain employees of air carriers are not covered by this law.

An employer may limit the amount of paid sick leave an employee can use in one year to 24 hours or three days. Accrued paid sick leave may be carried over to the next year, but it may be capped at 48 hours or six days.


Employees

Effective July 1, 2015:

  • An employee may use accrued may use accrued paid sick days beginning on the 90th day of employment.
  • An employee may request paid sick days in writing or verbally. An employee cannot be required to find a replacement as a condition for using paid sick days.
  • An employee can take paid leave for employees own or a family member for the diagnosis, care or treatment of an existing health condition or preventative care or for specified purposes for an employee who is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking.

Employers

Effective July 1, 2015, employers will be required to:

  • Display poster on paid sick leave where employees can read it easily.
  • Provide written notice to employees with sick leave rights at the time of hire.
  • Provide at least 24 hours or three days of paid sick leave for each eligible employee to use per year.
  • Allow eligible employees to use accrued paid sick leave upon reasonable request.
  • Show how many days of sick leave an employee has available. This must be on a pay stub or a document issued the same day as a paycheck.
  • Keep records showing how many hours have been earned and used for three years.

Retaliation or discrimination against an employee who requests or uses paid sick days is prohibited. An employee may file a complaint with the Labor Commissioner against an employer who retaliates or discriminates against the employee for exercising these rights or other rights protected under the Labor Code.


For more information on California’s new paid sick leave law, please click here or contact AB1522@dir.ca.gov.